Recommend:
To the knowledge base

Loading the FRITZ!Box factory settings

You want to restore the FRITZ!Box to factory settings? ✔ Here we show you how to easily reset.

Load the factory settings to delete all of the individual settings you have made in your FRITZ!Box. This makes sense if you are going to use the FRITZ!Box at a different location or are planning to pass it on to another user, for example. In addition, this deletes incorrect settings that prevent the FRITZ!Box from working correctly.

You can either use the user interface or a phone connected to the FRITZ!Box to load the factory settings.

Note:All instructions on configuration and settings given in this guide refer to the latest FRITZ!OS for the FRITZ!Box.

1 Loading the factory settings with the user interface

  1. Click on 'System' in the FRITZ!Box user interface.
  2. Click on 'Backup' in the 'System' menu.
  3. Click on the 'Factory Settings' tab.
  4. Click on the 'Load Factory Settings' button.
  5. During this process, all of the LEDs flash once. The WLAN LED remains lit as soon as the factory settings have finished loading.

2 Loading factory settings with a phone

IP phones, for example FRITZ!App Fon, cannot send key commands to the FRITZ!Box; therefore, you cannot load the factory settings with IP phones:

Configuring the keypad function in the phone

Configure the keypad function on ISDN phones and cordless phones that have their own base stations. You can use the keypad function right away with phones like the FRITZ!Fon that are registered with the base station of your FRITZ!Box.

  1. Configure the phone that you can use * and # for keypad sequences. Keypad sequences are combinations of symbols and numbers, e.g. *121#. You can configure this function in the menu 'Operation at a PBX > Dialling options > Dial * and #' (or similar).

Loading the factory settings

  1. Enter #991*15901590* on the phone and press the call key (pick up the handset).
  2. Hang up again after about 3 seconds.
  3. During this process, all of the LEDs flash once. The WLAN LED remains lit as soon as the factory settings have finished loading.